Posted in Collections, Quotes

“I believe in absolute freedom of expression.” ~ Taslima Nasrin

Reading quotes and views of activists or social reformers like Raja Ram Mohan Roy or the writer Taslima Nasrin and others has always been very motivating and inspiring. People who don’t possess crowd mentality but work, work towards the benefit of humanity and truth. I agree, they belong to older generations. 🙂 I’d love to share some of the quotes by Taslima Nasreen that pronounce her courage:
  1. When I write, I don’t allow the fear of consequence to interfere with the writing process. I have, in the past, paid for my commitment to the truth and the way I live my life. I am prepared to pay more, if I have to.
  2. Nature says women are human beings, men have made religions to deny it. Nature says woman are human beings, men cry out no!
  3. It is said that peace is the basic tenet of all religions. Yet, it is in the name of religion that there has been so much disturbance, bloodshed, and persecution. It is indeed a pity that even at the twentieth century we’ve had to witness such atrocities because of religion. Flying the flag of religion has always proved the easiest way to crush to nothingness of human beings as well as the spirit of humanity.
  4. I have been writing poetry since 1975. My first book was published in 1986.
  5. I believe that if the silent majority were to protest against those who believe in irrational blind faith, who want to go backwards instead of forwards, who are for tradition not innovation, who oppose individualism and plurality of thought – then the world would become a truly civilized world in which to live.
  6. I don’t agree with those who think that the conflict is simply between two religions, namely Christianity and Islam. To me, the key conflict is between irrational blind faith and rational logical minds.
  7. If any religion allows the persecution of the people of different faiths, if any religion keeps woman in slavery, if any religion keeps people in ignorance then I can’t accept that religion.
  8. In traditional societies we have a long legacy of men controlling the body and mind of women. Such societies have valorised motherhood and fabricated concepts like chastity. Woman have been the victims of these notions for thousands of years.
  9. Religion is now the first obstacle to woman’s advancement. Religion pulls human beings backwards, it goes against science and progressiveness. Religion engulfs people with a fear of supernatural. It bars people from laughing and never allows people to excercise their choice.
  10.  I have lectured at the U.N and travelled widely, giving lectures on human rights and gender inequalities in universities. But this is a life I do not wish to live. I want to be in battlefield where I can stand beside the oppressed and the poor.
  11.  Among all the ‘awards’ that I have hitherto collected, I consider the title of  ‘patita’ or ‘fallen woman’ to be the highest. This is an achievement of my long-struggling life as a writer and as a woman. ( This statement had been well received in India and world which only shows how she enjoyed writing against fundamentalists. )
Author:

A busy mom!

2 thoughts on ““I believe in absolute freedom of expression.” ~ Taslima Nasrin

Comments are closed.